Adventures In Computing

October 9, 2010

Web Browsers: Which One To Use?

Filed under: Chrome, Chromium, Firefox, Kubuntu, Linux, LinuxMint, Opera Browser, Ubuntu, Ubuntu 64bit, Windows — Normand Bissonnette @ 11:01 am

Tomorrow the new iteration of Ubuntu will be released. I can’t wait to try it. I have written about my failure at upgrading and then installing. The last few weeks I have been running Linux Mint Debian Edition and I sort of like it, but I have modified it so it is pretty much the same as my Ubuntu was before I tanked it.

One thing that I must decide when I am done installing it is should I use Firefox or Chromium? I have been toying with both the last month and a half. I had switched to Chromium back in March because of the speed but when Firefox started releasing The betas for version 4.0 I started using it again. I have been a supporter of Firefox since firefox 0.8 and when Chrome/Chromium came out I tried them out for a few days everytime a new version came out but I kept returning to Firefox. The last time I tried Chromium I used it for 5 months and as I said the last six weeks I have been using both but Firefox is been used 60% of the time and Chromium 40%.

On Sunday 10.10.10 I will be installing both on my Ubuntu box and none on my Kubuntu box because I want to try Rekonq. If I install Either Chromium or Firefox I will tend to use one of them instead of Rekonq, force of habit.

I have to mention that when I tried out Windows 7 I did try the beta of Internet Explorer 9 Beta for about three minutes, it was fast but I couldn’t get myself to give it a chance to impress me. I knew that I would be back using a linux distro in the near future and there was no chance in hell that I would be using IE9 in the long run.

I might give Epiphany another look also, a few years ago I was switching from it and Firefox. I might as well try Opera again I’ll tell you what I think.

If you have a few minutes please leave in the comments section what you are using and why. You’ll might mention a feature that I and other user don’t know about. You might influence us to switch from one to another.

1 Comment »

  1. I use Firefox because I like the extensibility of it, better. I’m used to using FireFTP and Firebug for development work and both of these, for me, are must have. I like the speed of Chrome, but am still not much impressed with it’s visual aspects.

    Comment by RedSpade — October 13, 2010 @ 4:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.