Adventures In Computing

April 5, 2008

Hardy Heron Another Step Forward For Linux

Thursday after work I updated my laptop from Ubuntu 7.10 to Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron beta.  Everything went fine with the update.  I like the neHeronw Clock in which we get the weather and we can add cities from different time zones.  Transmission is the new bit torrent client, I haven’t tried it here But I had used it when I was running Elive on one of my computer.  I beleive that the powers that be who decides which applications should be installed by defaults, should look at Deluge as the bit torrent client of choice.  It is a full featured client and it is easy to use.  About two minutes ago I started using Gnome-do and I like it very much.  It is sort of like Katapult on the KDE desktop.  There are still some bug, like no hibernation on my laptop & Epiphany crashes for no apparent reason.  It is going to be a fine release once all the bugs are worked out.  If you are adventurous install it now but if you want to wait until it is perfected you only have to wait until April  24 2008.

After the seeing how smoothly Ubuntu was updated on my laptop, I decided to update my Kubuntu 7.10 to 8.04 beta.  I already am using the KDE 4.0.3 version of Kubuntu 8.04 so the next step was the KDE 3.5.9 version of Hardy Heron.  This time the update was very painful.  I had to install it from scratch after the update because I could not do anything with it.  Thank God for live cd’s because there were some data that I had not backed up before attempting this update.  From what I have been experiencing Kubuntu is buggier than Ubuntu.  The KDE 4 version of Kubuntu has less bugs from my experience.  Everything will be fixed by April 24th and both Kubuntu distros will be great.

1 Comment »

  1. I too installed Heron on my laptop evo n100c (compaq) I did a clean install. Installed easily with all important stuff loading. After playing with it for a bit I see it still needs work. While running transmission my internet connection kept dropping and I had to remove my network card or reboot. Not sure it is transmission but it appears to be fine with it not running. Also when I used an external monitor with the laptop active it only cloned the size of my laptop monitor ie… 15 in. and my external is 19 so it left alot of space on my second screen. This can be worked around by shutting down my laptop monitor ie xrandr –output LVDS –off. I have not loaded it on my desktops yet and will wait for the final release (need them for work). I was a bit disappointed that automatix will not support this version but after reading their web page I totally understand and wish the programmers much success in their new endeavours. I did get the codecs etc loaded quite easily and am able to watch video. At one point in the upgrade session firefox disappeared and I had to down grade that. I’m sure all of these issues will be resolved by the final release. I am looking forward to the next few weeks when everything will be stable. But even now it has been an exciting release. ONE important thing that thrilled me is that my boot time which used to be about 2 shaves, is now what I consider normal.

    Comment by Robert Varcoe — April 7, 2008 @ 9:32 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

