Adventures In Computing

March 12, 2008

Trying Hardy Heron KDE 4.0 Style and GoblinX Replace OpenGEU

Filed under: Geubuntu, GNU/Linux, GoblinX, KDE 4.0, Konqueror, Kubuntu, Kubuntu 8.04, Linux, opengeu — Normand Bissonnette @ 11:30 pm

What have I been doing since my last outburst? Well I formated my Kubuntu komputer with the Hardy Heron alpha KDE 4. I might as well immerse myself in this new desktop environment because in a years time KDE 3.5 should not exist anymore. I know that everything does not work properly since it is still in Alpha release, but all I have to do is wait a few days and the developers will fix what has been broken, thanks guys and gals. Case in point this weekend I updated the system and I lost the sound. I found out that it was the new kernel’s fault and they recommended to boot with the earlier version of the kernel. In my case I got back sound but could not run Konqueror. So I decide to live without sound. On tuesday I updated the komputer and the sound was fixed, Woopie! KDE 4.0.2 is growing on me, like a strange fungus and this will be a great desktop environment in the near future.

Today I updated my OpenGEU computer and this broke two packages. This is the second time that I have broken packages with this Operating System once when it was call GEUbuntu and today. I restarted the computed and now I can’t log on! I don’t have the time to fool around with this so I try to install GoblinX on this computer, the gtkHDIstall is broken so it does not install unless we edit it there is a typo in the code. I fix this and I am installing as I am writing this.

If you have read my last post you will know that I was very pissed off that some schmuck copied my blog without giving me credit for writing it. Now I don’t mind that it was copied and I will allow anybody to copy this blog just as long as I am credited in writing the blog and you must have a link to this blog.

GoblinX is done installing I am booting up, it works! I’ll explore it and tell you about it in a future post because I have a ton of things to do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

